Equality, My Journey

Inspiration for the Next Generation

As everyone looked forward to the Super Bowl for a great game, I was actually looking forward to the commercials more.  Budweiser had already released their adorable video of their puppy and Clydesdales and I couldn’t wait to see it again because who doesn’t love puppies and horses?! (and beer?)

The Dove Men+Care ad had me “awww”-ing at the men with their sons throughout all phases of life and the Coke commercial made me feel like I myself could somehow make the world a better place (#MakeItHappy).

But the ad that inspired me the most was the Always “Like a Girl” commercial. Anyone that saw it can understand why.

As a woman in a male-dominated industry, I pride myself in having the confidence to stand up and fight for my right to equal opportunities in the industry that I love. But there was time in my life, a time in every girls’ life, where I did not have the confidence to stand up and fight for my thoughts and for the treatment I deserved. But some women unfortunately never gain the confidence they need to stand up and fight.

But this campaign may just make it so eventually we don’t have to fight anymore.

And don’t get me wrong, I’m not some crazy feminist that DEMANDS equal pay for equal work. I just want to be treated like a person. I understand men & women have inherent differences, but I also know that this world can be a very cruel place for many women. We need to stand together & make things easier for one another, not tear each other down or try to make a men vs. women war.

This ad may have started a trend, an understanding, or even a societal movement to change the perception we all have of women.. of what it means to be “like a girl.” Twitter was a buzz because of this ad, and I sincerely hope it will spark some sort of social change.

Then just two days after the Super Bowl, I woke up to Twitter making the hashtag #QuestionsForMen famous.  This hashtag highlighted the sexist comments geared towards women and spun them around towards men.

Would you ever ask a man on an interview how he’s going to juggle home and work? Would you ever ask a man if he’s had trouble breaking into his chosen field because it’s a “girl’s club?”  And would you ever ask a man if his body has been compared to an unlocked car, wallet or other object that can be carelessly left unattended?

The #QuestionsForMen and #LikeAGirl hashtags were only the beginning of this fight. But it’s progress.

Being a girl does not make you inferior. It makes you a warrior. You are strong, intelligent and capable. You are the force that can move mountains. And you are the force that can make change in this world. Don’t ever let anyone tell you otherwise.

Standard

Leave a Reply

