Embry-Riddle, My Journey

ERAU Communication Pride!

In the spring of 2014, I enrolled in Introduction to News Writing with Professor Steve Master at my university. I enjoyed the new style of writing and did a pretty good job in the class overall. The following semester, I enrolled in Aviation and Aerospace Communication again with Professor Master and I soon fell in love with writing.

This class combined my love of everything aviation and my new love of writing. Then, my coverage of Wings & Waves Airshow was published in Smithsonian Air & Space. I was surprised and flattered to have my work showcased in such a prestigious publication. The rush of producing great work and getting it published had me hooked.

This class was a very unique in that several students were able to gain the real-world experience of publishing works for national aviation publications. Professor Master used his “in’s” at different publications and his ability to teach quality writing skills to help several students get published. Today, my friend Andreia was published in our university’s alumni magazine, Lift.  She wrote an amazing article about an ERAU alum, Scott “Scooter” Yoak and his experience of becoming an air show pilot. Read her story here!

I’m so proud of everyone in our class, they all worked very hard to see what other students in our class have published, see our “published works” page on our class blog!

Standard

Leave a Reply

