My Journey

Getting through Writer’s Block

I’m sitting here staring at a blank page. This is the third day in a row that I’ve been unable to write about all these wonderful experiences I had at the Professional Women Controller’s conference. That I’m unable to put my research down on the screen. I’m so excited about all the topics I’m learning about…. But apparently I’m digesting it still. I can’t form sentences. I can’t form paragraphs. I can’t form stories.

I want to write. I have deadlines to make. Two weeks ago I was pouring out 1-2 articles a day. This week I can’t even form a sentence. Why?

Two words: Writers Block.

“The thing is, sometimes there is no story to tell. Or, you have stories but they’re not ready to be told yet. The blank page does not have to be your enemy. It is not a sign of failure. It just means: Not Now. – “Not Now,” Michele Catalano

I started reading how to get past this block. Why my fingers don’t want to type. Why I avoid writing like the plague. I’d rather clean my room than write. That’s not how this is supposed to be! I should be writing down all these ideas that are running through my head.

So I’m using the tips I’ve read about. I’m going to write stories in new formats. I’m free-writing by hand to “clear the cobwebs.” I’m writing just to write. This blog is my journal. Like I’ve said before – this is where the good, the bad, and the ugly lives. I highlight my successes but also sometimes need to express my failures in order to get past them. I’ve written about hardships in my life as well as my biggest successes.

One of the most interesting things I read was to take the pressure off myself – write just to write. That’s what I’m trying to do here. So far it’s working.

“That despite a life that unfolds on the internet, we can still write with no intent to publish.” – Cheri Lucas Rowlands

I found myself in this same place of writer’s block in February and again after the Women in Aviation conference. I had all these great ideas for stories. All these inspirational women that made me feel like I could do anything, all these grand ideas. Yet it was like pulling teeth to sit down and transcribe or write. I just couldn’t do it.

The last time this happened, it took me three weeks to get back into the groove of things. I can’t wait three weeks. I’m actually lost when I’m not writing. This is how I express myself. I can have a conversation with someone and never ever get to my point. But when I’m writing I know: hook, main point, backup content. In that order, every time.

When I’m not writing I feel lost. I feel like I am a train running 200mph down a track with no plan on where I’m going. I’m just going. No plan, no map, just riding until the track runs out.

I’m using my blog today as a way to just get something down on the screen. As to break down this mental barrier my mind is putting in front of me. I hope to be back up & writing my typical content in the near future. Deadlines are approaching and I need to get to work. I will get back to work.

Any additional tips from fellow writers out there?? 

Thank you for following my not-so-organized journey.

 

Xoxo Chrissi

Standard

One thought on “Getting through Writer’s Block

  1. Hang in there. It will come to you. As a weird tip, sometimes if I’m having trouble writing I change perspectives. I write as if it were someone else writing. What would an article look like if it was written by your pet? Or the block of cheese in your fridge? Or your left shoe? It will be silly, but it could get your brain out of the block and get those creative juices flowing again. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

